Khairy Jamaluddin

UMNO Youth Leader & BN Youth Chairman

About Rembau

The Regional Topography

Rembau is a district in Negeri Sembilan, adjacent to the state of Melaka. The district of Rembau makes up an area of 402.76 km square or 41,512 hectares, with a population of 119,189 as of 2007. Rembau district has 17 subdivisions known as mukim, comprising 204 villages. The majority of residents in this district are farmers, government servants, and factory workers from the district’s industrial area and from Seremban and Senawang.

Mukim of Rembau
The Mukim, or district subdivisions include, Pedas, Kundur, Tanjung Kling, Chembong, Batu Hampar, Selemak, Sepri, Pilin, Nerasau, Chengkau, Bongek, Titian Bintangor, Semerbok, Legong Ulu, Miku, Legong Hilir and Gadong.

Small Towns of Rembau
Pekan Rembau, Pekan Pedas, Pekan Chengkau, Pekan Kota, Pekan Lubok China.

The History of Rembau

The name “Rembau” is said to have originated from the Merbau tree (scientific name Afzelia Palembanica) which can be found at the foot of Gunung Dato in Rembau. Legend has it that a merbau tree toppled from the Gunung Dato; a prominent mountain in Rembau, which is how it got its name. Some say that the first resident of Rembau was Batin Bendahara Sekudai is said to have lived in Hulu Rembau.
(Source: Perpustakaan Negara Malaysia)

According to history, Rembau was one of the earliest shores to be explored by the Minangkabau people from Sumatera. The Minangkabau brought along with them the Adat Perpatih – Malay matrilineal customary law, whereby the matriarch has overall control. Many of them established villages and married locals. During the Malay Melaka Sultanate period, it was believed that Rembau was part of its territory.

Rembau has royal historical significance. The first Yang Di Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan, Raja Melewar, was inaugurated in Kampung Penajis, Rembau, and resided in Kampung Astana Raja. His Highness passed away in Rembau, and today, Rembau remains the final resting place of his tomb.
(Source: Majlis Daerah Rembau website)

The Electoral History

The Rembau Parliament was formed as a result of the delineation of the election areas in 2004. In the 11th General Elections, this seat was won by Datuk Firdaus Harun, a Barisan Nasional candidate with a majority of 18,656 votes.

Rembau is divided into four key state assemblies. The details of which are indicated below:

The four state assemblies:
1. Paroi – 23,060 voters (36.66%)
2. Chembong – 12,997 voters (20.66%)
3. Rantau – 15,124 voters (24.05%)
4. Kota – 11,715 voters (18.63%)

Total number of voters: 62,896
1. Malay – 68.9%
2. Chinese – 15.2%
3. Indian – 15.8%
4. Others – 0.1%

Types of voters:
1. Local – 55,836 (90.5%)
2. Out-of-town – 5,063 (8.2%)
3. Postal – 791 (1.3%)
4. Total Male Voters – 29,669 (48.1%)
5. Total Female Voters – 32,021 (51.9%)

2004 election results: